Setting from a variable

Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.

Moderator: DosItHelp

Post Reply
Message
Author
batnoob
Posts: 56
Joined: 19 Apr 2017 12:23

Setting from a variable

#1 Post by batnoob » 25 Mar 2018 02:18

is it possible to do something like:

Code: Select all

set x=4
set equation="%x%*2"
set /a x=!equation!
echo x= %x%
and output

Code: Select all

x= 8
More simply, how would one go about letting the user input the operations to be performed on a variable?
(or is that possible?)

Thanks,
::BatNoob
'BatNoob
//BatNoob

aGerman
Expert
Posts: 4678
Joined: 22 Jan 2010 18:01
Location: Germany

Re: Setting from a variable

#2 Post by aGerman » 25 Mar 2018 03:54

No need to expand a variable in a SET /A statement. The cmd.exe will do that internally.

Code: Select all

@echo off &setlocal
set /p "x=x: "
set /p "formula=formula: "
set /a "y=%formula%"
echo y=%y%
pause
Input 2 if you're prompted for x and x*2 if you're prompted for the formula.

Steffen

Aacini
Expert
Posts: 1914
Joined: 06 Dec 2011 22:15
Location: México City, México
Contact:

Re: Setting from a variable

#3 Post by Aacini » 25 Mar 2018 10:29

@batnoob, perhaps you could be interested in this thread...

Antonio

batnoob
Posts: 56
Joined: 19 Apr 2017 12:23

Re: Setting from a variable

#4 Post by batnoob » 25 Mar 2018 22:01

Thank you both, I thought it was simple, but I couldn't remember how to do it to save my life.

Post Reply