Page 1 of 1
Limiting echo & Output word "on"
Posted: 14 Nov 2021 03:35
by drgt
1. How to limit what echo is to process, without splitting the line?
example
Code: Select all
Prompt:>if 2 GTR 1 echo bigger else echo lesser
result: bigger else echo lesser
2. How to echo "ON" instead of turning echo on?
Re: Limiting echo
Posted: 14 Nov 2021 04:44
by T3RRY
drgt wrote: ↑14 Nov 2021 03:35
1. How to limit what echo is to process, without splitting the line?
example
Code: Select all
Prompt:>if 2 GTR 1 echo bigger else echo lesser
result: bigger else echo lesser
2. How to echo "ON" instead of turning echo on?
Your problem is not with echo, it's with your failure to use correct If else syntax:
Re: Limiting echo & Output word "on"
Posted: 14 Nov 2021 12:15
by drgt
Thank you for showing my omission
Answers
1
Code: Select all
C:\>if 2 gtr 1 (echo greater) else (echo equal or lesser)
2
Re: Limiting echo & Output word "on"
Posted: 15 Nov 2021 05:27
by aGerman
Looks definitely weird, but we have lengthy threads here where the outcome is that the lone standing left parenthesis has the fewest side effects, while the period is rather the worst case (even if it is still quite common).
Steffen
Re: Limiting echo & Output word "on"
Posted: 18 Nov 2021 23:40
by drgt
Thanks for the alternative.
Searching for "echo the word on" (at least on the first few results) I did not see any references to the "side effects"
Re: Limiting echo & Output word "on"
Posted: 19 Nov 2021 02:12
by jeb
Re: Limiting echo & Output word "on"
Posted: 20 Nov 2021 03:17
by drgt
Thank you JEB