Page 1 of 1

FTP Batch File No Longer works...??

Posted: 22 Jun 2011 06:40
by thomdroz
I have the following file which use to work but no does not
It logs in then at upload, it freezes saying
"Could not open data connection to port 40253"
The file shows up online, but with zero bytes


I am on Vista and recently updated to IE9.... Any insight is appreciated!

open mysite.com
user myusername mypassword
binary
cd /public_html/images
mput "c:\car_images\temp_pics\*.jpg"
close
bye

Re: FTP Batch File No Longer works...??

Posted: 22 Jun 2011 07:09
by nitt
"user myusername mypassword" - it's that line. I've tried using the FTP as well, but I always get an "error reading password" message. I haven't been able to figure it out either.

Re: FTP Batch File No Longer works...??

Posted: 22 Jun 2011 11:52
by thomdroz
Maybe but, not so sure that is it as it does log in to my account
then it does change directories

It is in the uploading that i get the 425 error

The file name goes up but that is it, file size is zero...

Re: FTP Batch File No Longer works...??

Posted: 28 Jun 2011 10:38
by nitt
Wait, hold on, I just figured it out!


FTP files are usually SCR files, which are also screen saver files but it doesn't matter. So create a file named "ftp.scr" then this is how an FTP file should look:

Code: Select all

open ftp.yourwebsite.com
user {username}
{password}
bye


And to run the code we want to use:

Code: Select all

ftp -n -s:ftp.scr


Make sure to have the "-n" or it won't work!

Re: FTP Batch File No Longer works...??

Posted: 28 Jun 2011 17:54
by thomdroz
Nitt

I appreciate your input, but I think we are working on 2 seperate problems.

My code runs on other computers, in fact it use to work on mine and now it does not.

It connects to the remote site but only uploads an empty file

My best guess is when i went to IE 9 it somehow screwed something up..........

Re: FTP Batch File No Longer works...??

Posted: 28 Jun 2011 19:42
by nitt
thomdroz wrote:Nitt

I appreciate your input, but I think we are working on 2 seperate problems.

My code runs on other computers, in fact it use to work on mine and now it does not.

It connects to the remote site but only uploads an empty file

My best guess is when i went to IE 9 it somehow screwed something up..........


I thought this was DOS Batch. IE's FTP doesn't really have anything to do with it. If you use mine correctly it should upload your files correctly. :/