Page 1 of 1
Move command question
Posted: 07 Jul 2011 12:27
by ED209
Hi all,
I'm wondering is it possible to do a dos move using an input file.. I've 400+ files to move from one dir to another and thought it might be a bit cleaner if I could use a txt file as the input but not sure if thats possible..
Any help would be appreciated..
Thanks...
Re: Move command question
Posted: 07 Jul 2011 12:32
by aGerman
How does your list look like? Only the source file names line by line?
Regards
aGerman
Re: Move command question
Posted: 07 Jul 2011 12:44
by ED209
Hi,
At the minute it's just in a txt file in the following format:
About.bmp
ACTDATA.CSV
APPTRACK.EXE
ARA_FIHI.CSV
and so on...
Re: Move command question
Posted: 07 Jul 2011 12:54
by aGerman
Untested:
Code: Select all
@echo off &setlocal
set "sourceFolder=c:\path\to\your\files"
set "destinationFolder=c:\path\to\move\the\files"
set "listFile=myFileList.txt"
for /f "usebackq delims=" %%a in ("%listFile%") do (
move "%sourceFolder%\%%~a" "%destinationFolder%\"
)
Regards
aGerman
Re: Move command question
Posted: 07 Jul 2011 13:12
by ED209
Just did a quick test and it works great..
Thanks a mil for your help..
EDIT**
Actually, would you mind explaining what the below is doing?
Re: Move command question
Posted: 07 Jul 2011 13:54
by aGerman
Of ourse.
The FOR /F loop iterates the list file line by line.
I used
USEBACKQ for being able to enclose the file name in double quotes (that was done because I didn't know whether the file name of your list contains spaces).
Normally the line read from the list would be delimited in tokens by spaces and tabs. For that reason I used
DELIMS= to disable the default delimiters and make sure you get the entire line into variable %%a.
Have a look at the
command index to learn more.
Regards
aGerman
Re: Move command question
Posted: 07 Jul 2011 13:57
by ED209
Cool, thanks again.. I'll have a read up on the command index now..
Re: Move command question
Posted: 07 Jul 2011 16:17
by Ed Diarrhea
ED209 wrote:!?!command index!?!