Page 1 of 1
can you set multiple lines into one variable?
Posted: 02 Oct 2011 12:21
by BatMaster
hey guys
i was just wondering if its possible to set multiple lines into one variable
if it is please tell me if not tell me anyway
Re: can you set multiple lines into one variable?
Posted: 02 Oct 2011 16:08
by aGerman
It's possible and you will find a few examples in this forum.
Code: Select all
@echo off
:: Create LineFeed character ::::::::::::::
set lf=^
:: Two empty lines above are neccessary! ::
set "line1=Hello"
set "line2=World!"
setlocal enabledelayedexpansion
:: merge both variables
set "var=!line1!!lf!!line2!"
:: display the result
echo !var!
endlocal
pause
Regards
aGerman
Re: can you set multiple lines into one variable?
Posted: 03 Oct 2011 10:37
by BatMaster
Re: can you set multiple lines into one variable?
Posted: 08 Oct 2011 01:27
by Rileyh
aGerman,
What are the "!!" for?
Rileyh
Re: can you set multiple lines into one variable?
Posted: 08 Oct 2011 08:57
by aGerman
The ! replaces the % for environment variables if enabledelaiedexpansion was set and you have to expand this variable more than once in a command line or a block.
Regards
aGerman