MASSIVE XP_SP1 BUG [corrupted stdout affects all *.EXE] !

Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.

Moderator: DosItHelp

Message
Author
Ed Dyreen
Expert
Posts: 1569
Joined: 16 May 2011 08:21
Location: Flanders(Belgium)
Contact:

Re: [BUGFIX XP SP1] wmic corrupted stdout

#16 Post by Ed Dyreen » 10 Mar 2012 13:52

Liviu wrote:Well... Sp1 is about 10 years old. XP has had two massive service packs since, plus countless updates. I am shocked that you'd find an Sp1 bug "shocking" ;-)

FWIW the Sp3 wmic.exe I have here is v5.1.2600.5512 and outputs Unicode with no double CRs or CR-CR-LF sequences.

Liviu
'
What is that supposed to mean.

If I wait another 10 years, and then find a bug in win7, you'll say exactly the same !

I am shocked and irritated that MS sells bèta software as if it were alpha.
Alpha versions shouldn't have massive bugs. They certainly knew the problem was present,
just couldn't wait earning money with crap.

10 years ?. MS don't change, that would be naïeve :?

Maybe you are right, I consider updating to windows 3.1 ( no service packs ) 8)

foxidrive
Expert
Posts: 6031
Joined: 10 Feb 2012 02:20

Re: MASSIVE XP_SP1 BUG [corrupted stdout affects all *.EXE]

#17 Post by foxidrive » 10 Mar 2012 15:05

I think the message is that if you don't update your OS to the latest revision then you can't be pointing the bone at earlier service pack revisions, when the bug is fixed.


There are valid reasons to update your OS too - security bugs are fixed and malware vectors are patched.

Ed Dyreen
Expert
Posts: 1569
Joined: 16 May 2011 08:21
Location: Flanders(Belgium)
Contact:

Re: MASSIVE XP_SP1 BUG [corrupted stdout affects all *.EXE]

#18 Post by Ed Dyreen » 10 Mar 2012 15:34

foxidrive wrote:I think the message is that if you don't update your OS to the latest revision then you can't be pointing the bone at earlier service pack revisions, when the bug is fixed.
Yes I can point the bone at both earlier and later versions.
Cause you can't deploy windows with the latest service packs on just any hardware.
Ever tried installation on an i486, a chipset that is supported by the original release.
But the bugs of SP1, SP2 and even SP3 make it you can't install on that hardware slipstreamed.
It has to be updated after login.
foxidrive wrote:There are valid reasons to update your OS too - security bugs are fixed and malware vectors are patched.
Really, will I need anti-virus too :)

foxidrive
Expert
Posts: 6031
Joined: 10 Feb 2012 02:20

Re: MASSIVE XP_SP1 BUG [corrupted stdout affects all *.EXE]

#19 Post by foxidrive » 10 Mar 2012 16:03

Ed Dyreen wrote:Ever tried installation on an i486


Are you trying to seriously tell me that you are running XP on a 486?

33 Mhz?
With or without a math co-processor?

I'd pick up a 1.8 GHz Intel machine in any curbside garbage collection if I were you. :P

Liviu
Expert
Posts: 470
Joined: 13 Jan 2012 21:24

Re: [BUGFIX XP SP1] wmic corrupted stdout

#20 Post by Liviu » 10 Mar 2012 19:28

Ed Dyreen wrote:
Liviu wrote:Well... Sp1 is about 10 years old. XP has had two massive service packs since, plus countless updates. I am shocked that you'd find an Sp1 bug "shocking" ;-)

FWIW the Sp3 wmic.exe I have here is v5.1.2600.5512 and outputs Unicode with no double CRs or CR-CR-LF sequences.
What is that supposed to mean.
It means what I wrote - there was a bug, the bug was later fixed, you chose to disregard the fix.

Compare to: car company finds a problem with an older model, issues a recall and offers a free fix. Owner of old model ignores the notice because he locked the car up in a sealed enclosure. 10 years laters the car breaks down due to the respective defect. Owner is mad ;-)

Ed Dyreen wrote:I am shocked and irritated that MS sells bèta software as if it were alpha.
Generally what's called alphas are pre-betas. I think you meant "release" there.

Ed Dyreen wrote:They certainly knew the problem was present,
just couldn't wait earning money with crap.
I wouldn't be so "certain", unless you were part of the XP and Sp1 betas, and found and reported the bug back then, or positively know someone who did.

Liviu

Ed Dyreen
Expert
Posts: 1569
Joined: 16 May 2011 08:21
Location: Flanders(Belgium)
Contact:

Re: MASSIVE XP_SP1 BUG [corrupted stdout affects all *.EXE]

#21 Post by Ed Dyreen » 10 Mar 2012 21:46

'
Liviu wrote:It means what I wrote - there was a bug, the bug was later fixed, you chose to disregard the fix.
No I don't, I already knew the bug only exists in SP1.
How could I possibly fix a bug without taking it into account while fixing it.

[off-topic]
foxidrive wrote:Are you trying to seriously tell me that you are running XP on a 486?

33 Mhz?
With or without a math co-processor?
Target is an i486, floating point integrated (no co-processor).
foxidrive wrote:I'd pick up a 1.8 GHz Intel machine in any curbside garbage collection if I were you. :P
You think I'd go on-line with a 90mhz cpu :lol:
[/off-topic]

foxidrive
Expert
Posts: 6031
Joined: 10 Feb 2012 02:20

Re: MASSIVE XP_SP1 BUG [corrupted stdout affects all *.EXE]

#22 Post by foxidrive » 10 Mar 2012 23:15

Ed Dyreen wrote:'
You think I'd go on-line with a 90mhz cpu :lol:


I went online on a 1 MHz 6502, but it had service pack 2 :thumbsup:

e4nd
Posts: 12
Joined: 17 Mar 2012 02:28

Re: MASSIVE XP_SP1 BUG [corrupted stdout affects all *.EXE]

#23 Post by e4nd » 17 Mar 2012 02:47

Code: Select all

@echo off 
for /f "skip=4 tokens=1,2* delims= " %%a in ('net user') do (
echo %%a
echo %%b
echo %%c
)>>"ASCII"
cmd /u /c type "ASCII" > "Unicode"
::
notepad "Unicode" |notepad "ASCII"


Code: Select all

@echo off 
for /f "skip=4 tokens=1,2* delims= " %%a in ('net user') do (
if /i not "%%a"=="Polecenie" (
echo %%a
echo %%b
echo %%c
) )>>"ASCII"
cmd /u /c type "ASCII" > "Unicode"
::
notepad "Unicode" |notepad "ASCII"

Ed Dyreen
Expert
Posts: 1569
Joined: 16 May 2011 08:21
Location: Flanders(Belgium)
Contact:

Re: MASSIVE XP_SP1 BUG [corrupted stdout affects all *.EXE]

#24 Post by Ed Dyreen » 17 Mar 2012 12:51

'
@e4nd

Code: Select all

@echo off &setlocal enableDelayedExpansion

start "wmic.EXE" /i /wait /high /min "!comspec!" /c ^>^>"ASCII.txt" wmic.EXE path WIN32_USERACCOUNT get Name

cmd /u /c > "Unicode.txt" type "ASCII.txt"

set "$name=" &for /f "usebackq skip=1 delims="  %%? in ( "ASCII.txt" ) do if "%%~?" neq "" set "$name=%%?"
echo.$name=!$name!_

set "$name=" &for /f "usebackq skip=1 delims="  %%? in ( "Unicode.txt" ) do if "%%~?" neq "" set "$name=%%?"
echo.$name=!$name!_

pause
exit

Code: Select all

_name=SUPPORT_388945a0
$name=_
Druk op een toets om door te gaan. . .
What are u trying to prove, the SP1 bug has nothing to do with unicode nor ansi,
the <CR><CR><LF> problem occurs regardless. :?:

FYI: It even occurs without file redirection.

Post Reply