Re :File Transfer
Moderator: DosItHelp
-
- Posts: 12
- Joined: 25 Aug 2016 04:20
Re :File Transfer
Hi,
i need to transfer file from From one Remote server to other Remote server, and also i dont have admin Access
so please help me how can i do this through Batch script.
Thanks,
Ak
i need to transfer file from From one Remote server to other Remote server, and also i dont have admin Access
so please help me how can i do this through Batch script.
Thanks,
Ak
-
- Expert
- Posts: 1166
- Joined: 06 Sep 2013 21:28
- Location: Virginia, United States
Re: Re :File Transfer
What makes you think something like this is possible?
-
- Posts: 12
- Joined: 25 Aug 2016 04:20
Re: Re :File Transfer
ShadowThief wrote:What makes you think something like this is possible?
please sugest me how can i transfer file from one remote server to other if i have username and password
-
- Expert
- Posts: 1166
- Joined: 06 Sep 2013 21:28
- Location: Virginia, United States
Re: Re :File Transfer
abhishekkumarrai3 wrote:ShadowThief wrote:What makes you think something like this is possible?
please sugest me how can i transfer file from one remote server to other if i have username and password
My question still stands. Why would this be possible?
-
- Posts: 12
- Joined: 25 Aug 2016 04:20
Re: Re :File Transfer
ShadowThief wrote:abhishekkumarrai3 wrote:ShadowThief wrote:What makes you think something like this is possible?
please sugest me how can i transfer file from one remote server to other if i have username and password
My question still stands. Why would this be possible?
i dont have idea...i just want to transfer file from one server to other remote server..
if you have any method please suggest me.
-
- Expert
- Posts: 1166
- Joined: 06 Sep 2013 21:28
- Location: Virginia, United States
Re: Re :File Transfer
Unless the servers already have file transfer software like FTP installed, you can't.
-
- Posts: 12
- Joined: 25 Aug 2016 04:20
Re: Re :File Transfer
ShadowThief wrote:Unless the servers already have file transfer software like FTP installed, you can't.
i have installed the FTP, Now please suggest me how can i do now
Re: Re :File Transfer
abhishekkumarrai3 wrote:ShadowThief wrote:Unless the servers already have file transfer software like FTP installed, you can't.
i have installed the FTP, Now please suggest me how can i do now
Use an FTP client like Filezilla or whatever one you want to use.
Re: Re :File Transfer
If the server supports SSH and SCP, you could also do it this way:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P4Q4asK8QPU
penpen
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P4Q4asK8QPU
penpen
Re: Re :File Transfer
abhishekkumarrai3 wrote:Hi,
i need to transfer file from From one Remote server to other Remote server, and also i dont have admin Access
You have not given enough information about your task to help you in an effective way.
See here: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6108
-
- Posts: 75
- Joined: 01 Jun 2016 09:25
Re: Re :File Transfer
It depends on what you mean by "remote". If the servers are on your network, then the normal utilities (MOVE, COPY, XCOPY, ROBOCOPY) should work. I think the first three require that you have a drive letter mapped to a share on the remote machine. ROBOCOPY lets you specify a drive letter or server name.
You may also wish to investigate the WinRM (Windows Remote Management) and WinRS (Windows Remote Shell) tools. These require that WinRM be installed and authorized on each machine to be used.
For each of the commands mentioned above, you can enter commandname /? at the command prompt to get instructions on how to use it. For example:
The output above has been cut short. It is a very big program with lots of options.
If "remote" means "not on your network", then you will need to provide more information, as the others have said.
You may also wish to investigate the WinRM (Windows Remote Management) and WinRS (Windows Remote Shell) tools. These require that WinRM be installed and authorized on each machine to be used.
For each of the commands mentioned above, you can enter commandname /? at the command prompt to get instructions on how to use it. For example:
Code: Select all
C:\test>robocopy /?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ROBOCOPY :: Robust File Copy for Windows
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Started : Sun Sep 04 18:49:41 2016
Usage :: ROBOCOPY source destination [file [file]...] [options]
source :: Source Directory (drive:\path or \\server\share\path).
destination :: Destination Dir (drive:\path or \\server\share\path).
file :: File(s) to copy (names/wildcards: default is "*.*").
::
:: Copy options :
::
/S :: copy Subdirectories, but not empty ones.
/E :: copy subdirectories, including Empty ones.
/LEV:n :: only copy the top n LEVels of the source directory tree.
.
.
.
C:\test>
The output above has been cut short. It is a very big program with lots of options.
If "remote" means "not on your network", then you will need to provide more information, as the others have said.
-
- Posts: 12
- Joined: 25 Aug 2016 04:20
Re: Re :File Transfer
douglas.swehla wrote:It depends on what you mean by "remote". If the servers are on your network, then the normal utilities (MOVE, COPY, XCOPY, ROBOCOPY) should work. I think the first three require that you have a drive letter mapped to a share on the remote machine. ROBOCOPY lets you specify a drive letter or server name.
You may also wish to investigate the WinRM (Windows Remote Management) and WinRS (Windows Remote Shell) tools. These require that WinRM be installed and authorized on each machine to be used.
For each of the commands mentioned above, you can enter commandname /? at the command prompt to get instructions on how to use it. For example:Code: Select all
C:\test>robocopy /?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ROBOCOPY :: Robust File Copy for Windows
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Started : Sun Sep 04 18:49:41 2016
Usage :: ROBOCOPY source destination [file [file]...] [options]
source :: Source Directory (drive:\path or \\server\share\path).
destination :: Destination Dir (drive:\path or \\server\share\path).
file :: File(s) to copy (names/wildcards: default is "*.*").
::
:: Copy options :
::
/S :: copy Subdirectories, but not empty ones.
/E :: copy subdirectories, including Empty ones.
/LEV:n :: only copy the top n LEVels of the source directory tree.
.
.
.
C:\test>
The output above has been cut short. It is a very big program with lots of options.
If "remote" means "not on your network", then you will need to provide more information, as the others have said.
*I want to transfer the file through PSCP command....and here Remote server means Remote Desktop ...
*and i have to transfer file from one Remote Desktop to other Remote Desktop.
please help me for this.
Thanks,
Abhi
Re: Re :File Transfer
First to say, you should have mentionmed PSCP earlier (for example: in your opening post).abhishekkumarrai3 wrote:I want to transfer the file through PSCP command....
Second: Have you seen my above post?
In this video scp under PuTTY is used to transfer files (you want to use PSCP == "PuTTY Secure Copy client").
There are only two things that are different:
1) You cannot start the scp command from one of the servers.
2) You must add a 'p' to the "scp" command ("pscp").
I never tested if this is possible to copy frome one server to another with that command (i recommend to use putty instead - if possible).
So this might or might not work:
Code: Select all
pscp [options] [user@]host:source [user@]host:target
penpen