Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.
Moderator: DosItHelp
-
Nicodemus
- Posts: 9
- Joined: 22 Feb 2019 12:58
#1
Post
by Nicodemus » 22 Feb 2019 13:03
how do I run the cmd window hidden or min?
Code: Select all
@echo off
"E:\12noon Display Changer\dc64.exe" -width=1176 -height=664 /c "E:\LaunchBox\Games\Big Fish Games\Mystery Case Files - Return to Ravenhearst FINAL\ReturnToRavenhearst.exe"
im running a game at a custom resolution with Display Changer, however the cmd window is visible behind it?
thanks for your help
-
Squashman
- Expert
- Posts: 4486
- Joined: 23 Dec 2011 13:59
#2
Post
by Squashman » 22 Feb 2019 13:08
Code: Select all
@echo off
start "My Game" "E:\12noon Display Changer\dc64.exe" -width=1176 -height=664 /c "E:\LaunchBox\Games\Big Fish Games\Mystery Case Files - Return to Ravenhearst FINAL\ReturnToRavenhearst.exe"
-
Nicodemus
- Posts: 9
- Joined: 22 Feb 2019 12:58
#3
Post
by Nicodemus » 22 Feb 2019 15:32
Thank you VERY much! one last question. Can I add a .exe program to start the same time? I have a program called Blackie that will black out everything in the background.
im trying to get the game to play in windowed mode but with a black background and not the desktop.
im running Desktop Changer to switch the resolution, then running the game, then running Blackie to black out the desktop.
-
Squashman
- Expert
- Posts: 4486
- Joined: 23 Dec 2011 13:59
#4
Post
by Squashman » 22 Feb 2019 15:59
I am not going to make assumptions on what code you are using to accomplish your task. It is pointless to ask a question if you haven't already tried some code to solve the task.
Try to code it yourself. If it doesn't work, come back and post the code you are trying to use and explain in full detail what you are trying to accomplish.
-
Nicodemus
- Posts: 9
- Joined: 22 Feb 2019 12:58
#5
Post
by Nicodemus » 22 Feb 2019 16:30
thank you
@echo off
start "my game" "E:\12noon Display Changer\dc64.exe" -width=1280 -height=720 /c "E:\LaunchBox\Games\Big Fish Games\Mystery Case Files - Return to Ravenhearst FINAL\ReturnToRavenhearst.exe"
"E:\LaunchBox\Games\Big Fish Games\Launchers\Blackie.exe"
taskkill /IM ReturnToRavenhearst.exe
when ReturnToRavenhearst.exe closes I want Blackie.exe to close with it. sorry, im 13 and still learning this.
-
Ed Dyreen
- Expert
- Posts: 1569
- Joined: 16 May 2011 08:21
- Location: Flanders(Belgium)
-
Contact:
#6
Post
by Ed Dyreen » 22 Feb 2019 17:14
This may work, in the worst case the script will respond after 9 pings, script requires system to have a network driver installed or it will clog the CPU.
Code: Select all
@echo off
start "my game" "E:\12noon Display Changer\dc64.exe" -width=1280 -height=720 /c "E:\LaunchBox\Games\Big Fish Games\Mystery Case Files - Return to Ravenhearst FINAL\ReturnToRavenhearst.exe"
start "" "E:\LaunchBox\Games\Big Fish Games\Launchers\Blackie.exe"
for /L %%i in () do (
for /L %%i in (1,1,9) do 2>nul>&1 ping;
2>nul>&1 taskList /NH /FI "imagename EQ ReturnToRavenhearst.exe" ||(
taskkill /IM Blackie.exe
exit 0
)
)
If possible to start ReturnToRavenhearst.exe after blackie.exe then the coding can be simple.
Code: Select all
@echo off
start "" "E:\LaunchBox\Games\Big Fish Games\Launchers\Blackie.exe"
start "my game" /WAIT "E:\12noon Display Changer\dc64.exe" -width=1280 -height=720 /c "E:\LaunchBox\Games\Big Fish Games\Mystery Case Files - Return to Ravenhearst FINAL\ReturnToRavenhearst.exe"
taskkill /IM Blackie.exe
exit 0
-
Nicodemus
- Posts: 9
- Joined: 22 Feb 2019 12:58
#7
Post
by Nicodemus » 22 Feb 2019 17:41
omg! the 2nd script worked. I see what I was doing wrong. thank you
-
Squashman
- Expert
- Posts: 4486
- Joined: 23 Dec 2011 13:59
#8
Post
by Squashman » 22 Feb 2019 18:45
But I thought the problem was you didn't want the cmd window open in the background. I don't see how this solves that.
-
Nicodemus
- Posts: 9
- Joined: 22 Feb 2019 12:58
#9
Post
by Nicodemus » 22 Feb 2019 19:23
your right it doesn't. but im still trying different things.
-
Ed Dyreen
- Expert
- Posts: 1569
- Joined: 16 May 2011 08:21
- Location: Flanders(Belgium)
-
Contact:
#10
Post
by Ed Dyreen » 22 Feb 2019 19:38
Nicodemus wrote: ↑22 Feb 2019 19:23
your right it doesn't. but im still trying different things.
my mistake
startMinimized.CMD
startGame.CMD will start minimized in there you put the actual code.
Nicodemus wrote: ↑22 Feb 2019 19:23
omg! the 2nd script worked. I see what I was doing wrong. thank you
I tested the first script on my pc, but I can't reproduce the problem "not works"
-
Nicodemus
- Posts: 9
- Joined: 22 Feb 2019 12:58
#11
Post
by Nicodemus » 22 Feb 2019 20:20
like this?
@echo off
start "" /MIN "startGame.CMD"@echo off
start "" "E:\LaunchBox\Games\Big Fish Games\Launchers\Blackie.exe"
start "" /WAIT "E:\12noon Display Changer\dc64.exe" -width=1280 -height=720 /c "E:\LaunchBox\Games\Big Fish Games\Mystery Case Files - Return to Ravenhearst FINAL\ReturnToRavenhearst.exe"
taskkill /IM Blackie.exe
exit 0
-
Ed Dyreen
- Expert
- Posts: 1569
- Joined: 16 May 2011 08:21
- Location: Flanders(Belgium)
-
Contact:
#12
Post
by Ed Dyreen » 22 Feb 2019 21:30
Eh no, more like in 2 separate files
startMinimized.CMD
startGame.CMD
Code: Select all
@echo off
start "" "E:\LaunchBox\Games\Big Fish Games\Launchers\Blackie.exe"
start "my game" /WAIT "E:\12noon Display Changer\dc64.exe" -width=1280 -height=720 /c "E:\LaunchBox\Games\Big Fish Games\Mystery Case Files - Return to Ravenhearst FINAL\ReturnToRavenhearst.exe"
taskkill /IM Blackie.exe
exit 0
And then run startMinimized.CMD
-
Nicodemus
- Posts: 9
- Joined: 22 Feb 2019 12:58
#13
Post
by Nicodemus » 23 Feb 2019 07:05
thank you. I want to understand. I can use one cmd file to run another? also, they have to be separate files? thank you everyone for your help, I learned a lot.
-
Ed Dyreen
- Expert
- Posts: 1569
- Joined: 16 May 2011 08:21
- Location: Flanders(Belgium)
-
Contact:
#14
Post
by Ed Dyreen » 23 Feb 2019 07:27
Nicodemus wrote: ↑23 Feb 2019 07:05
thank you. I want to understand. I can use one cmd file to run another? also, they have to be separate files? thank you everyone for your help, I learned a lot.
No they don't, actually I've been thinking a bit about your question because I was wondering if you preferred only a single batch.
-
Nicodemus
- Posts: 9
- Joined: 22 Feb 2019 12:58
#15
Post
by Nicodemus » 23 Feb 2019 08:42
thank you for your help. this works so im happy but I want to learn. how would I make it into a single batch file?