Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.
Moderator: DosItHelp
-
drgt
- Posts: 160
- Joined: 21 Sep 2010 02:22
- Location: Greece
#1
Post
by drgt » 29 Oct 2021 15:21
I want to start an external program (program.exe) and enter parameters at the time of batch execution.
I do not mean [batch_filename_Space_Parameter...]
Doable?
-
Gerhard
- Posts: 11
- Joined: 25 Oct 2021 22:01
#2
Post
by Gerhard » 30 Oct 2021 00:04
That will depend on the executable, does it allow for input at runtime? cmd cannot interact with the executable, so it will simply launch it when you tell it to. Obviously if the program allows parameters, you should be able to run it as program.exe param1 param2 and in some use cases if it accepts stdin you can echo answers and pipe to the executable. echo Y|program.exe. Other than that, cmd cannot interact with executables.
-
drgt
- Posts: 160
- Joined: 21 Sep 2010 02:22
- Location: Greece
#3
Post
by drgt » 30 Oct 2021 00:28
I am not sure if I was clear enough...
When executing the batch file, I want to show the system prompt with the program name pretyped, space and wait with blinking cursor for me to type parameters and hit enter before the batch resumes and launch the program.
If that is what you understood, thank you for the answer!
-
Gerhard
- Posts: 11
- Joined: 25 Oct 2021 22:01
#4
Post
by Gerhard » 30 Oct 2021 00:32
you mean like this?
Code: Select all
@echo off
set /p "runme=Program.exe"
"program.exe" "%runme%"
-
drgt
- Posts: 160
- Joined: 21 Sep 2010 02:22
- Location: Greece
#5
Post
by drgt » 30 Oct 2021 01:24
Code: Select all
@echo off
set /p "runme=program.exe "
start program.exe %runme%
exit
EXACTLY!
Thank you!
-
Gerhard
- Posts: 11
- Joined: 25 Oct 2021 22:01
#6
Post
by Gerhard » 30 Oct 2021 01:33
No problem. If you're going to use start, rather do it the correct way as well using the blank title:
-
drgt
- Posts: 160
- Joined: 21 Sep 2010 02:22
- Location: Greece
#7
Post
by drgt » 30 Oct 2021 01:36
ok. !
You must omit "" from "%runme%"
-
aGerman
- Expert
- Posts: 4678
- Joined: 22 Jan 2010 18:01
- Location: Germany
#8
Post
by aGerman » 30 Oct 2021 04:53
Depends on your input in the SET /P command. Don't forget to enclose parameters into quotes that contain spaces or other special characters. However, I think what Gerhard tried to point out is that you should always consider to use the empty pair of quotes after START because START treats the first quoted parameter as window title. That's why
works while
Code: Select all
start "C:\path whith spaces\program.exe"
doesn't work.
However
works, and so does
Code: Select all
start "" "C:\path whith spaces\program.exe"
Steffen