How Would You Go About Setting Up A Telnet Online Server?

Discussion forum for all Windows batch related topics.

Moderator: DosItHelp

Post Reply
Message
Author
nitt
Posts: 218
Joined: 22 Apr 2011 02:43

How Would You Go About Setting Up A Telnet Online Server?

#1 Post by nitt » 28 Jun 2011 12:53

I figured out how to set one up locally, so like

Code: Select all

telnet 127.0.0.1


Will execute the code in the file "c:\windows\system32\login.cmd".

But how could I set one up online, like the BlinkenLights Star Wars thing?

I need this 'cause when I'm on another PC sometimes I'm not able to just download things, so connecting to a Telnet server with the codes there could do it for me. And I could also host games and stuff that you just connect with Telnet to play, only one line of code and very easy for people to do.

Since I haven't figured out Telnet yet, I have been fiddling around with FTP. If you type in these lines in perfectly in this order (not copy and pasting) you should get a self-extracting COM file.

Code: Select all

cd desktop
(
echo @echo off
echo title WindowsApp
echo echo Hello, World!
echo pause
)>hello.bat
ftp cmdr.zxq.net
cmdr_zxq
127.0.0.1
get com.cmd
bye
com hello.bat
del hello.bat & del com.cmd
exit


It's not a real COM file but it looks like one so iz all coo'.



IF YOU DO NOT KNOW WHAT THE STAR WARS BLINKENLIGHTS THING IS then enable Telnet and type in "telnet towel.blinkenlights.nl".

That's what I'm looking for. Hosting my own Telnet server on my website just like that "towel" subdomain server thing.

Ed Dyreen
Expert
Posts: 1569
Joined: 16 May 2011 08:21
Location: Flanders(Belgium)
Contact:

Re: How Would You Go About Setting Up A Telnet Online Server

#2 Post by Ed Dyreen » 29 Jun 2011 00:25


Yeah, I've seen that one, is really funny, it's a cartoon in dos :D

nitt
Posts: 218
Joined: 22 Apr 2011 02:43

Re: How Would You Go About Setting Up A Telnet Online Server

#3 Post by nitt » 29 Jun 2011 19:30

Ed Dyreen wrote:
Yeah, I've seen that one, is really funny, it's a cartoon in dos :D


That doesn't really help . . .

phillid
Posts: 109
Joined: 03 Apr 2010 20:27
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: How Would You Go About Setting Up A Telnet Online Server

#4 Post by phillid » 29 Jun 2011 23:55

I don't know of a specific piece of telnet server software, however, anything that can listen and talk on a port - maybe 23 - on your computer will do the trick.
You just need to write the code to echo the keypresses back etc. and whatever else you want your server to do. I would recommend Perl or another scripting language, because there are often libraries for this sort of thing.

Kind Regards,
Phillid

nitt
Posts: 218
Joined: 22 Apr 2011 02:43

Re: How Would You Go About Setting Up A Telnet Online Server

#5 Post by nitt » 30 Jun 2011 00:15

phillid wrote:I don't know of a specific piece of telnet server software, however, anything that can listen and talk on a port - maybe 23 - on your computer will do the trick.
You just need to write the code to echo the keypresses back etc. and whatever else you want your server to do. I would recommend Perl or another scripting language, because there are often libraries for this sort of thing.

Kind Regards,
Phillid


I don't know Perl at all... It would help if you could like give steps or something I'm not very good at figuring things out.

Acy Forsythe
Posts: 126
Joined: 10 Jun 2011 10:30

Re: How Would You Go About Setting Up A Telnet Online Server

#6 Post by Acy Forsythe » 30 Jun 2011 07:36

I think you lucked out Nitt, for most people, I would tell them "You can't just *buy* or download a telnet server application for what you want" Telnet is a method off access usually to another specific application and the telnet server functionality is typically built into that specific application. Take MUDS for example, the vast majority of them are telnet servers.

However because you actually want Access to a server via telnet commands, you can find what you are looking for. Here is a commercially available Telnet Server: http://www.pragmasys.com/pragmatelnetserver.asp

Short of buying one or finding something like that at Sourceforge, you would be forced to develop your own in whatever programming language you're fluent in.

Post Reply